I have just received a letter with some good news. I submitted my painting Turbulence to the Royal Birmingham Society of Artists a few days ago. Right now my mind is not centred on finding exhibitions or galleries to exhibit my paintings. I am still busy with trying to make a living from my own landscape prints and paintings, which I sell online. A friend told me about the RBSA’s latest call for artists in November. I had nothing to lose and submitting is easy – this is one of the cases where being an artist in Birmingham is an advantage.

Turbulence - There is always calm before and after a storm

Turbulence - There is always calm before and after a storm

Turbulence depicts the approaching of dark grey clouds suggesting the arrival of a violent storm. The approaching clouds warn of the upcoming danger. The tension in the surroundings is almost palpable. On a closer look you will see the orange and yellow hues of sunlight peeking through the dark clouds. This arrival of light telling of the departure of the storm can be related with our lives. The message that the painting conveys is that our lives too are prone to hardships but we must always remember that every dark cloud has a silver lining. It tells of how change is the only thing constant in life.

If you’re in Birmingham, come and see ‘Turbulence’. Visit the Open Exhibition at the RBSA Birmingham, which runs for one month from 24th of November to 24th of December 2010.

